Monday, January 9, 2017

Youcat commented through CCC – Question n. 225 - Part II.

YOUCAT Question n. 225 - Part II. What names are there for the sacrament of Penance?

(Youcat answer – repeated) The sacrament of penance is also called the Sacrament of Reconciliation, of forgiveness, of conversion, or of confession.  

A deepening through CCC

(CCC 1486) The forgiveness of sins committed after Baptism is conferred by a particular sacrament called the sacrament of conversion, confession, penance, or reconciliation.   

Reflecting and meditating 

(CCC Comment)

(CCC 1424) It is called the sacrament of confession, since the disclosure or confession of sins to a priest is an essential element of this sacrament. In a profound sense it is also a "confession" - acknowledgment and praise - of the holiness of God and of his mercy toward sinful man. It is called the sacrament of forgiveness, since by the priest's sacramental absolution God grants the penitent "pardon and peace"  (OP 46: formula of absolution). It is called the sacrament of Reconciliation, because it imparts to the sinner the love of God who reconciles: "Be reconciled to God" (2 Cor 5:20). He who lives by God's merciful love is ready to respond to the Lord's call: "Go; first be reconciled to your brother" (Mt 5:24).   

(The next question is: But we have Baptism, which reconciles us with God; why then do we need a special sacramental Reconciliation?)

No comments: